We were thrilled to see that a large number of people associated with history, community history and historical societies were the recipients of Australia Day honours.

We send our warmest congratulations to the following award recipients:

  • Emeritus Professor Robert MANNE AO

For distinguished service to tertiary education, to political and social commentary, to public affairs, and to the Indigenous community.

  • Dr Judith BRETT AM

For significant service to education and public debate, particularly in social science and politics.

  • Emeritus Professor Jennifer HOCKING AM

For significant service to the preservation of Australian political history.

  • The Honourable Graeme STONEY AM

For significant service to the community, and to the Parliament of Victoria. Graeme is a life member and former President of the Mansfield Historical Society.

  • Carol BUNYAN OAM

For service to Community History. Carol is the co-author of Dunera Lives Vols 1 & 2 which are sold in the RHSV bookshop

  • Edward Charles DAVID OAM

Has been a member of Mooroopna Historical Society since 1991.


For service to community history preservation. Jill has been a stalwart of East Melbourne Historical Society for many years including being President

  • Gillian FRANCIS OAM

Service to community history especially that of Horsham Historical Society. Gillian was a co-editor of Strewth! An Insight into Local Involvement in World War One which won a VCHA Local History Project Award in 2015

  • Gifford HATFIELD OAM

Member of Box Hill Historical Society

  • Dorothy HAYNES OAM

Member of Doncaster Templestowe Historical Society since 2017

  • Lynette SKILLERN OAM

Lynette has been a volunteer at Leongatha Historical Society for 40 years and has held nearly all the offices there. She is also a member of the Centre for Gippsland Studies, Monash University Gippsland Campus and current Secretary, South Gippsland Historical Network.

  • The late James Dowling WILSON OAM

For service to the community through a range of roles. James had been an RHSV member and also a Life member of Camperdown and District Historical Society having been a Foundation member in 1959 and having held almost all the offices.

You can read the full citations for the above (indeed, for all) recipients here.